A New Beginning… Take 2,000,000.

I feel like I have started on this journey so many times that I couldn’t even count if I tried to.  I have been a life long dieter.  Since high school, I have tried everything from weight loss pills, the Atkin’s diet, Weight Watchers, Sensa, diets of my own creation, etc.  However, the fact of the matter is, none of them have lasted!   I have been successful in significant weight a few times in my life.  But good grief, wouldn’t you know that is always comes creeping back with an extra 10 or 20.  The problem is that I have not madelifestyle changes.  I have always just seen my changes as a temporary solution.  I think that is why this time will be different.

My father was diagnosed a few years ago with Type II Diabetes.  I never really realized how serious of a disease diabetes can be.  I figured, “Eh, you take the pill or inject and all is well.”  I was naive.  My father has a string of health conditions now that have been caused by his diabetes.  He is currently awaiting oral surgery that will cause him to drink out of a straw for a month because the sugar levels in his blood have caused him to have issues with his teeth and gums.  He has high blood pressure, skin sensitivity, fatigues easily if he isn’t exercising actively everyday, etc.  This has become one of my huge motivators.  I can see the worry on his face when he looks at me, the heaviest I have ever been, and sees his future for me – only it will start sooner for me than it did for him.

Another motivation is simply feeling good and being healthy.  I would love to be able to do physical activities and not feel like I am jiggling all over the place or huffing and puffing like the Big Bad Wolf.  I am not engaged yet, but I know that I will be in the nearish future, and quite frankly, who wants to be the heaviest they have ever been on their wedding day?  I would like to hopefully have children someday.  I don’t want to put myself or my children at a higher risk of disease and complications.  Finally, on the most vain level, I want to lookgood and I want to be able to wear the cute fashionable clothes that I can only drool over in my current state.

I know there are millions of women out there who feel like me in one sense or another.  Perhaps you are already battling Type II Diabetes or are desperately trying to prevent it’s onset.  Perhaps you are preparing yourself for one of the biggest events of your life.  Perhaps you just want to feel great and look good.  Either way, we can do this, together!

The key is to understand that this change cannot be a temporary one if this is to last.  We have to make changes to our diet and exercise everyday.  Yep, I said it.  EVERYDAY!  It is going to stink.  There are going to be days where you will want to cry as you tie on your sneakers, but you must!  My goal is to find things that I truly enjoy doing and to try new things!  I am going to try to eat very healthy with the understanding that there will be days where I am probably going to have a slice of pizza or an ice cream cone.  You just have to understand that that one ice cream cone doesn’t mean that you have to restart your diet on Monday or just give up for the rest of the week.  You didn’t blow your day or your diet because life happens and it isn’t a diet!  It is a life change.

Feel free to track my diet and exercise progress at MyFitnessPal.

Leave your two cents!

