Treats from the Heavens

One of the mistakes I have made in my previous diets, aside from them being DIETS and not lifestyle changes, is depriving myself of many food pleasures.  One thing I know for certain is that I have a sweet tooth!  I often struggle with this when I don’t allow myself to eat foods with processed sugars.  This means no ice cream, cookies, cakes, candies, etc.  However, I can be very realistic in saying that this will NEVER work for me as a lifestyle.  A girl needs her sweet treats!  So, after some hunting around on the web, I found various recipes that said you could combine any can of fruity pie filling with a boxed mix for angel food cake and it would make a delicious treat.  Tonight, I made it with strawberry.  I am going to share this with you because it was ridiculously delicious!

I broke down the nutritional content and figured that if you get 16 servings from one 9 x 13 pan, each serving contains:

  • 140 calories
  • 0 grams of fat
  • 254.375mg sodium
  • 32.75 grams of carbs
  • 24.25 of which are from sugar
  • 1.5 grams of protein

  1. These are the products I chose.  I read that you can do any type of fruity pie mix: blueberry, apple, pumpkin, cherry, etc.
  2. The strawberry pie filling had large chunks of strawberries in it…
  3. …so, I pureed it with my handy dandy stick blender to get a better consistency for a cake.
  4. Pureed goodness.
  5. Mixed with the angel food mix – no other ingredients!  It gets super fluffy.
  6. Pour it into a 9 x 13 pan.  I did spray mine with baking spray so it wouldn’t stick.
  7. Bake it at 350 for 30 – 35 minutes, depending upon your pan.  Check the center to make sure it is cooked through.  it will be dense.
  8. Expect large amounts of shrinkage.
  9. Enjoy, add a dollop of Cool Whip Free for a little added creaminess and you have yourself a strawberry shortcake-esque slice of Heaven!  Holy smokes, this was delicious!

As I discover more healthy-ish treats, I will certainly post them.  Please feel free to let me know of any of your hidden treasures!

Leave your two cents!

